How to assign specific data for room?

Options
Hallo,

I am a newbie in PUN and first of all I want to excuse my english because I am from germany.

I have just one little question, which you can read in the title. I already made a list of active rooms using "PhotonNetwork.GetRoomList()", but there is one problem: I can only get the data which I defined as roomInfo for the rooms. But I want to show some more data in the "hosted games list" like the specific host name which every user can define or a description of the game.

I have already searched in the internet about custom room properties but I did not really understand how this works (maybe because my english is not that good). I hoped that someone here can help me completing my current code to make it work :x
Or maybe you can explain it to me in an easy way. Both would be great!

Here is my code for hosting a game:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/e4kx1sd7fhsq6m7/Screenshot 2017-04-16 16.12.11.png?dl=0

Here is my code for showing the data in the ui list:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/5wwtk9y9epyydks/Screenshot 2017-04-16 16.12.09.png?dl=0
(the item is the UI-Panel showed in the list)
(the string "Testszen" is just a placeholder for the name of the host)

I thank you in advance for your help!

AniProGuy

Best Answers

Answers

• Bunzaga
    Options
    Hey AniProGuy, this was a bit confusing for me as well, in spite of the great documentation. Rooms have two different sets of data to define and access what you want.

The first is the room.CustomRoomProperties. This one is the ExitGames.Client.Photon.Hashtable, where you use a string identifier, along with the object you want as the value.

For example, you could do:

ExitGames.Client.Photon.Hashtable roomProperties = new ExitGames.Client.Photon.Hashtable(){{"HostName", "Bunzaga"}, {"Description", "Only enter if you brought some Vodka"}};

Like JohnTube mentioned, you need to set this on your roomOptions, when you create the room.