Efficiently syncing hundreds (or thousands) of objects

Options
Hi there,

I'm developing a multiplayer 3D space shooter, and I'd like some advice on efficiently syncing the position & rotation of asteroids, potentially hundreds, along with other things such as AI ships.

I'm given to understand that this is a disastrous task, and that having a few hundred moving objects with photonViews would be very unwise. I have some ideas on ways to go about it, but I'd love some clarification and further advice. I'm a little rusty with Unity as it's been a while since I last used it, and I'm a relative novice at network programming, however in its current state I've got players and basic weapons working.

Asteroids
These are rigidbodies that may or may not be moving at any given time

AI
These are consistently moving ships that will likely need the same syncing accuracy as my players have (full stream sync with lerping)

I'm thinking that the server should control these elements, but only worry about objects that are within a certain radius of each player. This begs the question whether thousands of objects all with photonViews can be largely disabled and re-enabled with relative ease. I'm not too sure how feasible my compartmentalisation idea is, so any pointers an further advice on this would be appreciated.

Comments

• 1. Only sync area of interest.
    2. You could group asteroids , and make some of them have a leader , doing some deterministic movements based on the leader , this way there would be the illusion of having them sy ched.

So , just have per ship netView and then select a leader and group some asteroids and make them follow the leader without needing a netView.
  • PowerLight wrote:
    1. Only sync area of interest.
    2. You could group asteroids , and make some of them have a leader , doing some deterministic movements based on the leader , this way there would be the illusion of having them sy ched.