[Native C++] Join random room with player properties?

Options
zaki
zaki
edited May 2015 in Native
Hello guys,

Newbie here. I have a couple of questions regarding multiplayer realtime game. Please advise:

1. How to join a room (be it random or specific) with custom player properties?

2. I want to do like a simple tank wars game like this. Player plays as a tank. In a room probably there are 2 - 10 tanks. The last survivor win the game. My question is, when I shoot an opponent. What information i should broadcast (my current implementation is like this):
- Tank 1 shoots tank 2. Tank 1 call opRaiseEvent to Tank 2, Tank 2 receives damage and using opRaisedEvent again to broadcast to all that Tank2 hp is reduced by 10. Is this a correct way?

3. Lastly, is there any example (LoadBalancing) project for Objective C. I downloaded the iOS SDK v4-0-2-1, inside comes with few demo projects. Some uses cocos2dx, some are c++. I really need a demo for Objective C load balancing project (I am sucks at c++, especially using pointers).

Thanks in advanced.

Comments

• Kaiserludi
    Options
    Hi zaki.

Set those custom player properties on the MutablePlayer reference that gets returned by Client::getLocalPlayer(), before calling Client::opJoinRoom() or Client::opJoinRandomRoom(), please.

Can't tank1 already calculate what damage it's hit caused on tank2?
    In that case it would make sense to just let tank 1 broadcast to everyone else in the room that it has hit tank2 for X hp.

The v4 native Client SDKs currently do not ship with an objC API at all, as v4 of the objC API is not yet in a ready for production state.
    For an objC API plus accompanying demos please go with with the latest v3 release of the iOS or OS X Client SDK, for now, please.
  • zaki
    Options
    Hi Kaiserludi,

Thanks for tbe quick reply.
    One question just lead to another questions, hope you dont mind.