Still trying to understand =D

Options
Sladix
edited June 2011 in DotNet
Hi,

So, after many cries and sweat showers, I've decided to resume my Photon learning.
What seems confused to me is still a bit due to the architecture (I'm just saying that it's not quit easy to learn for a n**b like me).

So, I'm studying the realtime demo example and here is my question. To raise custom events, I see the function that use OpRaiseEvent and I understand the function EventAction which dispatch the events, regarding the event's byte code.

But I don't understand what's going on on the server side. Has the event to be defined server-side ? Or does it need to be defined Only if the server need to raise it ?

edit: when an Event constant is defined e.g:
internal const byte EV_MOVE = 101;
How can we be sure that the code "101" is not already used by another lite/litelobby photon event ?

edit2: I've made some experiments in the real demo in order to set up a fire function.
So I've my script Gun.js attached to a player model, I've created a updateFire function in usePhoton.cs and I wonder how to access the Gun script. I've tried
playerTransform = PlayerTransformDict[player.playerID];
					Gun script = playerTransform.transform.GetComponent(Gun);
but it doesn't work ...

Regards,
Sladix

Comments

• Tobias
    Options
    Effectively, the client does not send an event but calls the operation RaiseEvent. So on the server, the (custom) content of your event will go through the operation RaiseEvent and there it's put into a custom event object.
    If you want to peek into events server-side, this is the place.
    Alternatively, you could create new operations and let them send events as needed. In this case, you get parameters mapped into the operation object as expected.
  • Kaiserludi
    Options
    The Photon core functionality does not know any specific operations, including opRaiseEvent, but just principle of operations via opCustom.