PUN vs Realtime vs Turnbased

Options
Hi there,

I've never used Photon before. I'm interested in making a Unity game that involves asynchronous drawing and responding to such. I'm a little confused as to all of the product offerings of Photon though - can someone explain the difference between PUN, Realtime, and Turnbased? I understand why there might be a different product for Realtime and Turnbased, but how they compare to and/or overlap with PUN doesn't make any sense to me.

Just trying to pick the right SDK to use. Thanks!

Vexir

Comments

• Tobias
    Options
    It's a bit confusing, I admit. From our perspective, it makes more sense.
    You can do async games with Photon Turnbased. Players may leave a room to return later. State is saved. You will have to make sure the state of a game does not grow endlessly but that's another matter.
    Use the Photon Turnbased SDK for Unity from this page:
    https://www.exitgames.com/en/Turnbased/Download
  • Vexir
    Options
    I know that Turnbased allows for a-sync games, but what is the difference between Turnbased/Realtime and PUN?
  • Tobias
    Options
    :)
    Turnbased allow async games. It also has a lower price as subscription but lower messages/sec limit, too.
    It is otherwise not different from Realtime. It runs on the same cloud and has the same features (plus the async ones).

PUN is a client side "SDK" that is basically a layer on top of the "cloud logic" (a.k.a. LoadBalancing API). It uses Photon's features in a way to implement RPCs and Instantiate calls the way Unity does. This makes some things easier to do and adds some components. In the end, the server side is the same for PUN and the other Photon SDKs. Just the methods are different to resemble those of Unity more.

PUN is not compatible with the Turnbased way to handle inactive players, etc. So this would not be an option, unless you save game state somehow else. That would however mean you loose a big part of Photon's features.