Custom Authentication Help Needed

Options
lifealchemist
edited March 2014 in Photon Server
I'm using the PUN system in Unity3D for my online game and I'm having trouble understanding how to host my own custom server authenticator for player login and verification.

I've looked at this link:
http://doc.exitgames.com/photon-cloud/C ... ntication/

From a complete beginner to this, but familiar with Unity, the client-side seems extremely simple with plenty of details on what needs to be done. I cannot, however, understand a single thing when it comes to the server side. I get that unity calls the photon cloud, cloud calls the authentication server, but I have no clue how a URL comes into it at all.

I've gone to this link:
https://github.com/exitgames/photon.cus ... entication

Downloading the files from the right hand side as a zip, I understand what I'm needing is the src folder, beyond that, however, I'm clueless. By the looks of it, I need microsoft visual studio (I have the 2013 version) and it says the web sample is incompatible, so maybe that isn't the right application to open it. There is absolutely no documentation on how to setup the server using the src folder that I could find, and researching blindly on google doesn't help me understand the program or what I need to do to integrate it to unity.

All I want is to have the player type in a login and password, then start playing my game. Advice for someone who knows nothing about server authentication would be greatly appreciated.

P.S. Do I really have to pay for web hosting for this? Seems kinda pointless when photon transfers information between clients for me anyways. Makes me think creating save files in unity on my own computer (as the server) and passing rpc calls is simpler since I already have file encryption and serialization implemented.

Comments

• Hi and welcome to Photon!

What you need for custom authentication is this, basically: