Authoritative Server for Turn Based Game

Options
slims
edited January 2014 in Photon Server
Hello, I'm new to Photon and Unity and have a question about implementing an authoritative server.

I have created a game in Unity that is similar to Chess mixed with a RPG Tactics game like Fire Emblem. As such, players have a number of units they move around a grid, which they do in turn. The game itself is in a working state, however, I am trying to now make it multiplayer.

I have written the game in the Model-View-Controller architecture. What I would like to do is something like move the model to the server side, so that client-side requests can be sent to the model to check if the request is valid and to update the game state in the model if so.

I've been googling to try to find an example of such an implementation, but with no luck. I've ran into some questions similar to this but people were asking about real time games and updating physics server-side, which is not at all what I need to do.

I merely would like to run the game logic on the server side and check the validity of client side requests, like if a movement of a given piece is valid, or if an attack is in range, etc.

Can anyone point me to a tutorial or a code example for this, or just explain it outright in brief terms?

EDIT: I just saw Photon Turn Based on the main site, and it is in beta. Would this provide the solution I am looking for?

Comments

• chvetsov
    Options
    Hi, slims.

Well, we do not have special tutorial, but i will try to explain what you can do.

1. First step for you is undestanding of Lite sample. Basicly it is server where you may create rooms and exchange messages between players inside rooms. In your case room will contain only two players. Lite does not do any checking on server.

2. You should deceide how to host your game.