Self Hosting Server for Unity

Options
chocomurr
chocomurr
edited November 2013 in Photon Server
Sorry if I sound nooby, this is my first time making a game and hosting a server.

I was able to get my game on this web address, "https://sites.google.com/site/unitygametest346/unit", I built the game file with my local IP address in the PUN wizard, I think that's why only the computers in my local network can connect and play it. Some of my friends have tried from their computers and it just shows "Disconnected" in the game.

Did I need to build the game file with my public IP address in the PUN wizard? I tried putting in my public IP address in the PUN wizard, once I hit play this shows up:

Connect() failed: System.Security.SecurityException: Unable to connect, as no valid crossdomain policy was found
at System.Net.Sockets.Socket.Connect_internal (IntPtr sock, System.Net.SocketAddress sa, System.Int32& error, Boolean requireSocketPolicyFile) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
at System.Net.Sockets.Socket.Connect (System.Net.EndPoint remoteEP, Boolean requireSocketPolicy) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
at System.Net.Sockets.Socket.Connect (System.Net.EndPoint remoteEP) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0 at System.Net.Sockets.Socket.Connect (System.Net.IPAddress address, Int32 port) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
at ExitGames.Client.Photon.SocketUdp.DnsAndConnect () [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0

I have no clue what I'm supposed to do to fix that. Do I need to edit any config files or add more code? I just want my game server to be accessible by any computer over the internet.

Comments

• You would need to do the following:
    - configure the game to use your public IP address.
    - make sure that your public IP address does not change. If your internet provider does not assign you a static IP address, try something like DynDNS.