Multiple photon instances on one computer

Options
mookanana
edited May 2013 in Photon Server
Hi, I have searched in vain for the answer to this question so I thought I'd try my luck here.

I am very new to the photon framework and am currently just riding on a working version of it at the office.
I would like to set up multiple instances of photon on my laptop for multiple user development purposes. Right now, we have a couple of people working on server code and as a result the server base is constantly being updated for testing. This causes a lot of delay - developers need to wait for each other to test their code. Our lazy alternative is to have different computers for different servers but that is inefficient. I have also tried running multiple servers under one instance, however if a developer's update causes a crash on his individual server, the whole instance goes down and everyone can't continue.

From what I understand reading up on threads, the photoncontrol currently cannot support more than one instance. however I am not clear how to manually configure the script files to run seperate instances or whether this is even possible. Any help would be much appreciated!

my best reference is here http://forum.exitgames.com/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=584

Comments

• Hi,

the thread you mentioned gives quite good advice.

It is possible to run multiple Photon instances, but Photon Control does not support it yet. So you need to take care of starting / stopping the instances yourself. Each instance needs to have a unique instance name.

You can either start multiple instances all in the same directory, or make a copy of the /deploy folder for each instance. The later is probably easier for your purpose.

1. Modify the PhotonServer.config and add additional instances. There are currently <Default ... /> and <Loadbalancing ... > - add what you need; make sure that the instances all bind to a unique IP (replace 0.0.0.0 by your IPs) OR use different ports on all listeners.