Automating game play testing (photon)

Options
Hi Everyone, First post here. I'm a professional tester looking at automating some aspects of multiplayer game play testing for a unity/photon architecture. Webclient is the primary client.

I'm assuming the best way to do this is creating clients that will call player functions initiated from a script (move, jump, pick, etc, etc) and the client will be calling these functions and using photon to send udp, with some kind of callbacks for status and the like. But I'm open minded about exactly what form will be used in the end.

I'd really like to hear how you do things and any comments you might have about automated testing in this and similar environments.

Thank you!
- xtrans

Comments

• Hi xtrans,
    welcome to Photon! :) First, are you going to use Photon Cloud or a self-hosted Photon with customized applications / operations?

We are using unit tests on several different levels - for "Photon core" functionality (like serialization etc.); for server-side application functionality (like the NUnit test projects in /src-server/Lite or LoadBalancing that are part of the Photon Server SDK - I recommend that you have a look at them), client-lib tests, etc.

If you have a good separation between your game logic and your GUI, you should be able to write automated tests for the game logic part quite easily - create a thread for each "client", call your operations and check if the other "clients" receive the expected data.

If you are using a self-hosted Photon, you might also want to build some of your tests in a way that you can re-use them easily for some load testing (i.e., simulate the typical game behavior for a few hundred clients to determine how many clients your server can handle).

For UI testing, I can not give much advice because I'm not an expert for GUI development at all - let alone GUI testing - but maybe someone else here can you give some hints.
  • xtrans
    Options