PUN2 question regarding sending information to a playerRoomList prefab from the Main room UI script

Options

In short im setting some values in the room UI eg player colour, avatar, whatever.

I want to then send those changes to whichever player room listing prefab is the owner of that listing AND update to all of the rest of the room players.

I'm a noob when it comes to this stuff, i have checked all demos, my current project is based off the asteroids demo, which uses player colour but it's assigned based on the player id rather than choice.

Is this something i would need hashtables for as i have not yet learned those but seen them in demo projects, or is it a slightly annoying case of from the main room ui, find all player room list prefabs in the scene, check which one i own and update that way(although same issue is how do i update that so everyone sees it).

I can provide more details, current script setups etc if needed.

For reference my current scripts in question are

-LobbyMainPanel.cs - provides all ui buttons for login, room creation, roomlist, and rooms themselves.

-PlayerListingEntry.cs - the prefab that is instantiated inside a room to show player names etc.

That top part is my priority, i will eventually need to send those new customization details eg, colour, avatar etc to the spawned player prefab in the game scene, but im hoping whatever i learn for the above will translate to that.

Thanks.

Answers

• Tobias
    Options

This sounds like a job for Custom Player Properties. They update everone and there is an event when they fire, so you could update the UI.

• Craigus
    Craigus
    edited January 2022
    Options

I know this is a late reply, but 4 days later i still can't quite understand how i should get the results that i am after.

I have done this inside my playerlisting prefab

playerColorImage.color = customization.GetColor((int)_customProperties["BallColour"]);

PhotonNetwork.LocalPlayer.CustomProperties = _customProperties;