Can't open Android Native Demos

Hi, I'm very new to Android Studio and I'm having trouble opening the demos provided in the Android Realtime SDK.

The readme doesn't say what environment these were build in, so I'm assuming it was they work in Android Studio.

I open a project and select the root folder of the project, for example:
/Photon-AndroidNDK-Sdk_v4-1-16-3/Demos/demo_loadBalancing
where the run button normally is there's an option to configure when I configure it as an app and try to run it says it's missing the AndroidManifest.xml

When I load the folder that has the AndroidManifest it says it's missing a module.

I'm also having trouble loading the library into a new project. I can link the C++ library to it, but I then have troubles writing a NetworkLogic controller, or calling the code from Java, but I figure this isn't the place for that so I'm mostly concerned with loading the demo projects and messing around with them

Comments

• Hi @ImMilesAhead.

The demo projects ship with makefiles for NDK-build and with VisualGDB projects.
    Android Studio is not necessary to build and run the demo projects. You can either use Visual Studio with VisualGDB or run the plain makefiles directly from the command line.

You can create Android Studio projects for the demos buy following the guides at https://developer.android.com/studio/projects/add-native-code.

See https://developer.android.com/studio/projects/gradle-external-native-builds for how to add native libraries like the Photon Android libraries to your project.

Note that wherever those guides differentiate between cmake and NDK-build, you should go with the NDK-build instructions.
  • ImMilesAhead
    edited September 2020
    Thanks @Daguo that link has gotten me almost all the way but I can't get the ndk-build to run properly.

I'm trying to build the library using ndk-build but I get an error:
    C:\Users\Miles\AppData\Local\Android\Sdk\ndk\21.3.6528147\build\ndk-build.cmd