does Unet deprecation affect Photon? NetworkConnection class not found in PunClasses.cs

Options
Hey all,

I'm new to Photon networking, I was formerly using Unet until I just read recently that they were deprecating Unet.

I just installed PUN 2, and I am getting a class not found error for NetworkConnection in PunClasses.cs:
line 423: public void OnClientError(NetworkConnection conn, int errorCode)

Is NetworkConnection a PUN class that I'm missing? I know Unity has a NetworkConnection class in their API, but there is no using import for this in the PunClasses file.

I'm also assuming that PUN is not affected by the Unet deprecation, I didn't read anything anywhere that said it was, and I assume Photon owns the entire library of networking code it uses, with no dependencies to Unet/Unity.

Thanks for the help

Comments

• JohnTube
    JohnTube ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options
    Hi @Rumbeard,

Thank you for choosing Photon!

PUN does not depend, rely or use UNet.
    I think you had an issue when importing PUN.

Make sure you import PUN2 only in a fresh clean new empty project.
  • Rumbeard
    Rumbeard
    edited September 2019
    Options
    Ok thanks @JohnTube

Unfortunately I don't think importing to a new empty project is an option for us as we are far along in development. If it was an import problem I believe we can figure that out.

Outside of getting potential errors like the one we found, are there other caveats to importing to an existing project as opposed to a new empty one?
  • JohnTube
    JohnTube ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options
    Hi @Rumbeard,

Not sure which exact PUN version you have imported and in which Unity version.
    Also, I don't know what other assets you have in your project already.

What I know is that line 423 in "\Assets\Photon\PhotonUnityNetworking\Code\PunClasses.cs" is different from
    public void OnClientError(NetworkConnection conn, int errorCode)
    Also there is no NetworkConnection class in PUN at all.

So there is something wrong somewhere.