New to networking and PUN questions

Options
Hi everyone,

I have started learning multiplayer development by reading Gabriel Gambetta's blog and worked through the tutorials available in Unity's UNet. However the tutorials seem to be non-server authoritative and I was wondering if PUN is different?

Are there tutorials for server authoritative multiplayer in PUN?
What about client prediction and reconciliation? Does Photon have these concepts in PUN (or its other products -- which isn't easy to differentiate between them).

Mainly I am looking to make something of a small scale action game like agar.io where instead of you eat stuff you melee/range attack stuff.

I am still new at this and would like something easy to sink my teeth into as I said I am still starting out.

Comments

• N1warhead
    Options
    PUN Doesn't have Authoritation per-say but there's ways of being creative with it.

Example, instead of clients controlling all their stuff, you could make it where the clients tell the Master of the room to E.G. - Swing my bat for me. That way if the client is cheating, it wont matter because the master will be controlling his every move.

Not exactly Authoritative, but it's a way to be creative, however - keep in mind if the master quits when you do whatever, it could drop the packet and never go through.

Now of course, you could simply do what I've always done... Do server side checks on every important action... Really all you gotta do is store a PHP file on some server, have the whatever (attack script) for example, call the PHP, retrieve the value and make that, the value for the damage, So no matter what that can't be changed. But keep in mind, if your game gets popular, you might want to get a powerful Internet.