Help! Newbie level instantiate question.

Options
I am very new to photon, apologies if the questions are extremely basic.

1. I am making a game in which most of the elements are created in random positions. I assume the objects need to be instantiated on the server(host) side and use photonview so everyone sees the same objects. Is that correct? I don't want more information going over the server than needed.

2. I also can't seem to figure out how to get it to only happen once. Each player has the script to instantiate the objects. How do I make it only spawn the one time?

3. How do you differentiate from one player and another? I want one player to be chosen at random and be given a different prefab to start the game with. Everything I find is about all players starting with the same prefab.

Thank you for any help. I greatly appreciate it.

Comments

• Hi @Goliath520,

1. I am making a game in which most of the elements are created in random positions. I assume the objects need to be instantiated on the server(host) side and use photonview so everyone sees the same objects. Is that correct? I don't want more information going over the server than needed.

This is basically correct, but actually no objects get instantiated on the server. The server just caches Instantiation calls and forward those messages to all clients. The PhotonView component is required for network identification, synchronization and RPC calls.

2. I also can't seem to figure out how to get it to only happen once. Each player has the script to instantiate the objects. How do I make it only spawn the one time?

When do you call those Instantiation calls? This sounds like a game logic problem to me.

3. How do you differentiate from one player and another? I want one player to be chosen at random and be given a different prefab to start the game with. Everything I find is about all players starting with the same prefab.