mmorpg (Sorry!)

Hi there, I'm here to ask an mmorpg question. Don't shout at me just yet! I've been developing games for a few years now and just looking for a bit of info.

I've used the networking plugin with unity and its great. Used it since it was released and am pretty experienced with it. So question is, Can it be adapted to use in making an mmo? (Servers with up to 500 players).

If not, is there a current mmo example with the server used in Unity. I know there used to be the island demo set up as an MMO but I can't seem to locate it in the download section now.

Thanks!

Comments

• download the server SDK: https://exitgames.com/Download/Photon
    In the Server/src folder there's an MMO folder. It has both Unity Island client and the server code.
  • Very nice, thnx.

There is quite a bit going on behind the scenes. Im sure I can study it all 1 by 1, but any chance of documentation that gives a run down of what everything is actually doing? ^_^
  • Sadly, there is no extensive documentation for the MMO demo. Neither server- nor client-side.

We do have an explanation of the concepts it uses. Read through this and the following pages:
    http://doc.exitgames.com/v3/mmo

What type of game are you doing? MMO is not always "open world", which is what the MMO demo makes possible.
    If you actually have smaller groups of players, then a room-based approach might do.
  • Well, I haven't decided on the type of game yet. I'm mostly just messing around with stuff.

I was aiming more in the direction of open world though. Where its one giant world and players can all be in the same area if needed and so on.

Any idea how many players the island demo would be able to hold and run steady?
  • The server will handle more than you will be able to handle on the client due to the impact of skinned mesh renderers in view.
  • Awesome!