RPC Function is not being recognized

I have been getting the following errors when trying to compile an RPC Function to Unity. I'm new to RPCs, but I have been looking at other threads and I can't seem to find one with this error.

My code is shown below, that calls the RPC Function.

It seems to have a problem with RPC in general, as the line it is getting an error on is 113, where it says [RunRPC].

Here are some import statements I make at the top, incase I am missing one.

Any help would be greatly appreciated! (:

Best Answer

• tleylan
    tleylan ✭✭
    Answer ✓

Well perhaps you've discovered it by now but you named the Attribute RunRPC not PunRPC.

I'll suggest you follow the C# naming conventions (for the most part) as well. So class playerMovement should be PlayerMovement.

Your respawn method should be Respawn and (as a rule) consider adding the optional "private" to the signature so: private void Respawn()

Answers

• Also, If I comment out line 113, (which doesn't seem reasonable, but why not try it) the code actually compiles, but I get this error message when it tries to call the (Non-existent)rpc function

I should note that I am also not entirely sure if I should be using an RPC function in this scenario. There may be some other way of doing this, but here is what I am actually trying to do: I have a top down game and I have finished making the players be able to damage each other with two different weapons. What I want to do now is when their health falls below zero, they should respawn in a new randomized position on the map. I have gotten the function that finds a new position to work properly, and I think almost all of the concept I am trying to do works, except when I set the Player's new position, it seems to flash at that position, and then immediately glitch back to it's current position.

The following function gets called when a player's health falls below zero. I think the issue is in the line with the red arrow.