Authentication error - OperationResponse 230: Return code: -2

Hi everyone,

I am new to self hosted server and I encountered this error when I tried to host a server on my local machine. If I set the port number in the PhotonServerSettings into 5058, it returns this error. If I set the port number in the PhotonServerSettings into 5055, it's connected but the PhotonNetwork.LocalPlayer.UserId is empty even I already set it in the authentication values before connecting. What did I do wrong? Please help me!

Best,

Best Answer

• JohnTube
    JohnTube ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November 2021 Answer ✓

Hi @mixedrealm,

No you do not need to configure custom authentication (this is also equivalent of anonymous auth w/o any auth provider configured).

You can simply set the UserId before connecting from the client (as I think you already do).

Currently in PhotonServerSettings I have UserNameServer unchecked and port 5055.

In this case, you are connecting directly to the MasterServer and skipping NameServer altogther, I suspect this is what's causing the UserId to remain null as not returned by server (you could try joining a room and leaving it, then check UserId again). So please connect to NameServer first (5058; UseNameServer) that's what we recommend.

Besides:

OperationResponse 230: ReturnCode: -2 (Missing value 210 (AuthenticateRequest.Region)). Parameters: {} Server: MasterServer Address: 127.0.0.1:5055

Please add SupportLogger and post logs. We want to understand how to reproduce this exact error.

Please post your exact client code and try to reproduce with default server SDK (unmodified).

Answers

• JohnTube
    JohnTube ✭✭✭✭✭

Hi @mixedrealm,

Thank you for choosing Photon!

Which Photon Server SDK version are you using? v5 RC1?

What is the full error message?

How did you configure custom authentication? in which file / for which server NameServer (5058) or MasterServer (5055)?

Are you setting a FixedRegion in PhotonServerSettings?

• mixedrealm