Can't get component on Instiantiated Object

I'm completely new to photon. I have a fair bit of experience with Unity but learning multiplayer feels like learning a new game engine lol.

I'm using photon and making a chess game, so I've put photon Views and practically everything, except the objects I want to be unique. I feel like I've gotten most of it figured out, but for some reason, when I start a multiplayer game, it doesn't initialize my chess pieces properly. So, I have it placing all the pieces at start, with this nested for loop,
for (int x = 0; x < boardGrid.GetLength(0); x++)
        {

for (int y = 0; y < boardGrid.GetLength(1); y++)
            {

boardGrid[x, y] = new Vector3(chessPieceContainer.position.x + x * spaceBetweenPieces, chessPieceContainer.position.y + y * spaceBetweenPieces, 0);

if (y < 2 || y > 5)
                    {

GameObject spawnedPiece = PhotonNetwork.InstantiateRoomObject("Prefabs/Piece", boardGrid[x, y], transform.rotation);
                        pieces[x, y] = spawnedPiece.GetComponent<ChessPiece>();
                        pieces[x, y].posOnBoard = new Vector2Int(x, y);
                    }

}
        }
The "pieces" array is a 2D array of the ChessPiece class, which assigns the sprites, team, and movesets based on position on the board. It's very strange, it works just fine on a single player game, but if I build the game and play two player(which is the exact same script, it just disables the AI), for some reason, only the build gets a null reference exception error at this line,
pieces[x, y] = spawnedPiece.GetComponent<ChessPiece>();
It seems to be unable to get a reference to the chesspiece, and therefore, it sets all the pieces to white rooks as white rook is in the default position. Weirdly, the pieces initialize properly on the editor's screen. And also, if I play the build version in single player, it seems to initialize everything just fine.