Best Practice for Leaving and Rejoining an existing room

Hi,

I am kinda new to Photon at this point and am using PUN2.

I have an existing setup that works fine for anyone waiting to join or joining rooms. However, when a client leaves a room, with other clients still in the room, and tries to rejoin, things start acting strange.

I'm not sure if there is a best practice or sample out there that can help me understand what's going on, but it seems that the client that joins a room for the second time isn't Locally controlled, an rpc that is setup to spawn the rejoined client doesn't get called and it seems isMine is no longer true.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Comments

• emotitron
    emotitron ✭✭✭
    edited July 2020

Are you using rejoin? Or are you reconnecting from scratch? Be sure to pull the latest version 2.19.2 from the store as well, as there were some changes to that.

• So initially, i'm just trying to reconnect from scratch.
    My current flow is as follows:
    ConnectUsingSettings()
    OnConnectedToMaster() -> Get list of available rooms
    then either JoinRoom(existingRoom) or CreateRoom(newRoom,RoomOptions).

When the application closes there's logic to leave the room and disconnect.

There are a few things that I'm not sure of, how can I determine whether a client needs to reconnect vs connect and/or rejoin vs join?
    Or how can I setup a room to enable the same user to join and rejoin?

I believe I have the latest as well.
  • JohnTube
    JohnTube ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited July 2020
    Hi @theophysist,

Thank you for choosing Photon!

Reconnect ==> reconnect after unexpected disconnect.
    ReconnectAndRejoin ==> quick rejoin: reconnect and rejoin a room after unexpected disconnect while joined to a room.