Can I mix PUN and Realtime?

Hi, I am new to Photon so please forgive the possibly dumb question.

Can I mix calls to the PUN and Realtime APIs in the same application? E.g., can I connect to the Photon Network with LoadBalancingClient.Connect (Realtime) and then use PhotonNetwork.CreateRoom (PUN)?

The context: I'd like to write a library based on Realtime, that could be used outside of Unity. Some of the apps using this library will be Unity apps though. So I'd like to know if those need to stick to the Realtime API or can access Photon through the PUN API as well.

Best Answers

Answers

• JohnTube
    JohnTube ✭✭✭✭✭
    Hi @fiban,

Thank you for choosing Photon!

If by mix you mean that one client made of Photon Realtime SDK can communicate with another client made of PUN, then the answer is YES.
    You need to consider a few things, however:
    mainly AppVersion
    in general "Matchmaking Checklist".
  • Thanks JohnTube.

I actually meant using both PUN and Realtime in the same client/process. See my example about using both LoadThe Realtime binding is available in the PUN package so in theory this seems possible,
  • JohnTube
    JohnTube ✭✭✭✭✭
    You can also use both from the same process, yes but you will have two Photon clients, two connections and twice the CCU. For what purpose is this?
  • @JohnTube:
    I think what he has in mind is that he mixes API calls on the same connection like in doing the connect() call directly on the LoadBalancingClient, but then calling PUNs createRoom() on that very connection. This would require being able to directly access the LoadBalancing Client instance that is used by PUN under the hood.

@fiban: