RTS - One time information sharing

Hey, so I'm very new to pun and I started with a simple RTS like prototype.

So far I have player movement working with just a transform view. (Not typical for RTS, but whatever)

The map for the game is procedural. So I want the master client to generate a seed and share it with the others. This works right now. I do it with OnPhotonSerializeView. In there I do something like this:
if (PhotonNetwork.IsMasterClient)
{
    stream.SendNext(seed);
}
else
{
    if (seed == int.MinValue)
    {
        seed = (int)stream.ReceiveNext();
        GenerateMap(seed);
        DisplayMap();
    }
}
Which works. But I don't want to send the map seed all the time. Which I think happens. Right?

So how could I share the seed only when a new player connects?

And further on. If I add building placement. How do I share the info that I placed a building one time to all the players?
Overall: How do I share an information only one time. And maybe: How do I share a information to a new joined player?

Sorry if the question is hard to understand. But please point me in the right direction. Thanks everyone (:

Best Answers

• Malace
    Malace
    edited April 2019 Answer ✓
    Well to be honest I'm after similar answers myself on the forum. What I have found so far.

Each object on the map that will need updating will require its own pun mono class to control how it will sync on the network.

As such I'm leaning to believe your map should not stream itself more than once.

What you will likely need is a RPC call to tell the server to pass the seed to the joining client. It should then be able to recreate the map itself. Using the seed and the same method used by the host. (This is my understanding of seeding a procedural map.)