Odd behavior with Advance Tutorial Sample

I'm new to Bolt and using Unity 2018.3f2.

I imported the Bolt Free asset and built the advanced tutorial scenes. The game window running as the server behaves as expected, but in all of the client windows, the input commands appear to get processed multiple times causing the local player in the client to run at ~3x speed and jump higher than it should be able to. In the server instance (and for proxied players in other clients), the second player moves as expected. This causes the client instances to get way out of sync where they believe they have moved a great distance, but the server sees them as only moving a small amount.

Here's an example of the problem. Client 1 moved forward towards the server player. In Client 1's game, he moved rapidly towards the server all the way up to the server player. Client 2 and Server see him in the correct position, having only moved 20 feet forward.

Has anyone else seen this? How do I fix it?

Also, is there anything in Bolt that corrects out of sync locally controlled objects? i.e. Will the object get moved back towards it's "correct" position? ("Source Engine Multiplayer Networking" discusses correcting prediction errors)

Thanks for your time.

Comments

• chrisrbs
    chrisrbs
    edited January 2019
    Edit: Ignore this comment.

I did some digging and it's because ExecuteCommand is being called multiple times on the clients for the same BoltNetwork.Frame value.

E.g. At frame 100, the player is at (0,0,0) and a forward command is queued. ExecuteCommand is called 5 times for frame 100 and the player moves to position (5,0,0). But on the server since it is the owner it is only moved to (1,0,0).

I don't see anything in the Advanced Tutorial about verifying movements and ensuring a frame is only predicted once. Is this something we have to do manually?

Thanks!