OnPlayerPropertiesUpdate not called?

I am just beginning with PUN (porting a project using UNET). Everything has worked great so far (well not far yet).
But for the life of me I can't figure out when I set Player custom property the OnPlayerPropertiesUpdate is not called.

I am setting the properties as follows:

Hashtable hash = new Hashtable();
hash["driver"] = driver; //driver is int value
player.SetCustomProperties(hash);
But on my other class (which inherits MonoBehaviourPunCallbacks) the method is not getting called:

public override void OnPlayerPropertiesUpdate(Player target, Hashtable changedProps)
{
Debug.Log("MPLobbyPlayer: OnPlayerPropertiesUpdate() " + changedProps.ToString());
if (target == photonView.Owner && changedProps.ContainsKey("driver")) {
RefreshNameAndDriver();
}
}
Am I missing extra steps here? I can verify on the masterclient (where I set the custom properties) that the properties are actually getting set. Just the callback is not called. I've understood the OnPlayerPropertiesUpdate() should be automatically called even on the client that is calling SetCustomProperties(), right?

Comments

• JohnTube
    JohnTube ✭✭✭✭✭
    Hi @zilp,

Thank you for choosing Photon!

Yes, what you have reported (OnPlayerPropertiesUpdate "not automatically called on the client that is calling SetCustomProperties()" but should be triggered for the others) is the actual behaviour. We will discuss internally if it should be the correct or intended behaviour or not.

Here are few things to try however:

1. Verify RoomOptions.BroadcastPropsChangeToAll is set to true when you create rooms. This will enable sending the PropertiesChanged event to everyone inside the room including the player whose properties have changed or the one who made the change. This is supported on the Photon Cloud only for now and not on the self-hosted Photon Server.