How to implement /commands

profezzional
edited July 2016 in Photon Chat
I'm working with a browser-based Unity FPS called Warmerise. I'm trying to develop chat commands, mostly emotes. My plan is just simple text replacement based on user input. Example:

User inputs: /hi
Chat outputs: Hello! Profezzional greets everyone.

The emotes would be taken mostly from this list.
I'm new to C#, but I've been looking through the Photon Chat API scripts, and I have code for different commands. My thought is something like this (example for one command):
string msg = message;
if (msg[0] == '/') {
    if (msg.Substring(1, 3).Equals("hi")) {
        if (msg.Length < 5) {
            msg = "Hello! " + sender + " greets everyone.";
        }
        else if (msg[4] == ' ') {
            msg = "Hello! " + sender + " greets " + msg.Substring(5, msg.Length) + ".";		// if target player is specified
        }
    }
}
My problem is I can't figure out where to put this code. I've tried in publishMessage(channelName, message) [line 281 in ChatClient.cs], Add(sender, message) [line 50 in ChatChannel.cs], and in various methods in other chat scripts in the template for this game all of which were unsuccessful when I tested the modified versions in Unity. I think this is because the server it's running on isn't using this modified code, because I don't have access (and can't upload) to the server directly.

This seems possible with Photon Chat based on this thread, but I'm not sure how to implement it and I didn't want to revive that old thread.

Does anyone have any ideas?

Comments

• JohnTube
    JohnTube ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited July 2016
    Hi @profezzional,

You should put your code in chat callbacks: OnGetMessages or OnPrivateMessage.
  • Hi @JohnTube,

It makes sense that I would put it in OnGetMessages(), but I have 2 1/2 questions: