Capacity check: Photon Cloud - is it suitable for my game?

Hi all,

Since I'm just beginning to investigate networking options, and the people here probably know the most about what the Photon servers/PUN are capable of handling, I figured it would be valuable to spec-out my game's requirements and get guidance on the best approach.

I'm currently building a game with the following requirements:
  1. 2-4 simultaneous players (characters), requiring constant update
  2. 15(average) to 50(peak) physics objects (most will be inactive at most points, but up to 50 peak active physics objects is worst-case)

These will be the only objects of importance with regards to network communication.

I was planning on using the Photon Cloud to host my game. My thoughts were that a single player could broadcast the state of all active physics objects on a periodic basis (perhaps every 1 second, to prevent divergence due to Unity's non-deterministic physics engine - this is a wild guess). Given this, I would have the following broadcast each second, in the worst case:

[list=2]
[*]50 objects/second by a single player to all other 3 players (equivalent to 5 objects every 1/10th second)[/*]
[*]1 character's state 10 times a second by all 4 players to all other 3 players[/*][/list]

Given savvy networking code and optimizations, is this a scenario that the Photon Cloud Servers are appropriate for handling for an optimal user experience, or is the physics engine something I really need to have running server-side? Does anyone have any guidance or suggestions?

Thanks!

Comments

• I really like how you summed up your network activity. Nice job :)

We don't have too much first hand experience with physics in-game. Take this as educated guess.