Photon ViewId

Hi,

I'm new to Photon and currently working to integrate Photon engine into my game. I've created a small demo to understand how Photon work and it's working fine. Then I tried to integrate Photon into my game and tried to make it work with the demo. But there are some problems. First, it seems photon want to make sure both side use the same scene so I have to disable those line of code. Then I got the "Illegal View Id: 0..." error on my game side even though the 0 should be allowed. If I tried to set the viewId on both side to a same number but on the demo I cannot set it to 0 so I have to set to something else and on my game the viewId keep switching back to 0 no matter what value I set it to and I get the error "Illegal View Id: 0..." again and again.

Could someone tell me why PhotonView need the Id? Does both side have to have the same ViewId when calling and receiving RPC Call? Why is the view Id keep changing to 0?

Sorry for my English.

Comments

• Who says viewID 0 should be allowed? ;)
    PUN doesn't allow it. Use 1 or up. ViewIDs identify a PhotonView on a specific GameObject instance. It's more or less synonymous with: "that object".

For objects in a scene, you can set the viewID. The have to be unique though, so if you set 1, 2, 4 and then 1 again, all will be re-assigned automatically and IDs might change more or less in random ways.
    ViewIDs of Prefabs are set at runtime. Before it runs, we don't know how many GameObjects you instantiate in which order.
  • I have some scene-owned photon views, with the View ID configured to set at runtime, but when I load the scene in-game (by triggering a level load from another scene) the photon view IDs get set to 0.

Interestingly enough, this happens only for this one prefab but not for other scene-owned prefabs.

Also if I load this scene directly (having it active and then hitting play), the view IDs all get set correctly.

Any suggestions on what I should look into?