Feature request: events for non MonoBehaviour objects

Options
It looks that at the moment the only way to respond to OnConnectedToPhoton, OnDisconnectedFromPhoton, etc. is by creating a MonoBehaviour subclass and add it to your scene.

Is it possible to add support for events (might be c# specific) or some other form of callback support so that you can create non MonoBehaviour classes to react to these events (for example when creating an app using multiple scenes/levels)?

Comments

• Tobias
    Options
    How is using multiple scenes related to using non-MonoBehaviours?

I don't know yet what we should implement for you exactly. Maybe you give an example?
    In worst case: You can modify PUN at will. The source which calls the callbacks is there and can be replaced by whatever you like best.
    The enum PhotonNetworkingMessage contains all the callback methods we define. NetworkingPeer.SendMonoMessage() is where we call those methods.
  • I'm pretty new to Unity so maybe this setup I'm using is totally wrong. But I'm making a simple 2D game, using MVC pattern. The controller is a C# class not inheriting from the MonoBehaviour class. It is a singleton preserved between Levels. It would be nice if this controller could directly listen for events and respond to them by showing the correct visuals.

C# only solution would be to define an c# event which contains the PhotonNetworkingMessage and maybe related data. Add an event variable to PhotonNetwork and let NetworkingPeer.SendMonoMessage fire events trough the variable. No idea what the javascript equivalent would be though.

I rather not modify PUN myself, since I'm lazy and just want to press the update button when there is a new version :D

At the moment I solved it by creating a stub MonoBehaviour component which implements all the event methods and calls the controller methods.
  • dreamora
    Options