Photon Questions

GRIM2594
edited November 2010 in Photon Server
Hello all, I hope that this won't seem like a repetitive post; as I am sure that I may ask something that's obvious.

I am new to Unity and Photon, but I do have experience with C++ client/server technology. There are many documents and examples that I have played around with and looked through, but some things still don't "click" for me yet. I will list my questions as cleanly, and straight to the point, as I possibly can.

A) In multiple examples for the client side implementation, there appear to be two different methods. One is a .dll and the other uses 3 prefabs.
TheQuestion->Which is the most up to date method that I should place my focus on learning?

B) The examples included in the .zip files work great, but there seems to be something that I am missing when I try to re-create scenes (or add Photon to an existing game). I simply can not get it to spawn an identical replica of the playerModel for the simulated other-Player. (Also, under the 3 prefab version it spawns a cylinder? Any time I change that (in the mmoscript), to attempt to load a modelPrefab (just an example name), it just wont load anything.)
TheQuestion->Is there any tutorials that I may have missed, that would simplify this issue? The documentation isn't fully clear, as the main document states to look at the examples, when the examples don't appear to be clear either (lol).

C) I am under the impression that Photon is a customizable server-side program.
TheQuestion->Is it customizable to the point where I can program in my own functions to query/update/replace (ect) from MySQL, or whatever else I can think of? Or is there limitability to program in custom functions?

Thank you all for reading.

Comments

• I can answer C) Yes, it's fully customizable.
    My unity experience is too limited to give a good answer for A and B.