spawning players to different locations.

Im a bit of a newb, and not a programmer, but I have had some luck in getting Photon to work wonderfully in some simple projects/tests.
I dont need specific code examples as I will need to figure out how to do everything I need in PlayMaker (that has some photon specific actions. Im looking for hints as to HOW to achieve this.
Firstly I need to restrict the amount of player in my game to 4. So Create Room (hard-coded room-name) and spawn first character. After 4 have been spawned into the room, I will then want a new room spawned so any MORE players than 4 get a new instance of the game.

In addition, and specifically what I am asking here. I need to move each Player to a different starting location. So First man in, gets to spawn as the Farmer in the "Farm", second man in becomes the Priest in the "Church", 3rd man in gets to be in the "Research Unit" and so on...

What is the process I need to look at for this gameplay, needing different locations and player models?

Thanks

MArk

Comments

• It's great to read you do your first steps with Photon and Playmaker. I'm not too deep into how you achieve behavior in Playmaker but I'm sure you can ask for details in their forum, if you don't already know.

About your questions:

To get 4 players in a room, set it's maxPlayer value when you create it. This must be exposed in Playmaker somehow, too.
    You best follow this workflow for Random Matchmaking here: http://doc.exitgames.com/photon-cloud/M ... references

To assign a role per player, you need to keep in mind that single players might leave before the game is even full. This makes role assignment a bit more complex than "player 2 is xyz".
    One way is to let everyone pick their role, based on which roles are not used.
    I guess the better way is to assign roles. One player checks available roles and sends an RPC to the new players to assign a role. Typically, this is done by the Master Client.