OnOperationResponse vs OnStatusChanged

BlueSkyz
BlueSkyz
edited May 2017 in Any Topic & Chat
Hey guys, i'm new to Photon Realtime and i'm trying to get the basics working by piecing together what i can from the tutorials. I'm trying to connect, create and join a room, send/receive events. I think i have connecting to the cloud working by calling connect in my Start method in Unity. However, i'm not sure where to put my OpJoinorCreateRoom should it be in OnStatusChanged - Connect or OnOperationResponse when joinrandom game fails? I have seen tutorials where it is sometimes in one and other times the other. Could someone also just explain how those two methods work? If anyone could post some sample/pseudo code besides the ones on the website of how to: connect, create and join a room, send/receive events, that would be greatly appreciated, thanks for reading!

EDIT: I have gotten those basic things to work in PUN before, are OnStatuschanged or OnOperationResponse and their codes similar to things like OnPhotonJoinFailed OnJoinedRoom etc.?

Comments

• JohnTube
    JohnTube ✭✭✭✭✭
    Hi @BlueSkyz,

Thank you for choosing Photon!

If you are familiar with PUN, may I ask why did you switch to Unity SDK?

You can see PUN as a special Unity SDK with a layer built on top of Realtime SDK. So PUN uses both and it also uses OnEvent. If you take a look at PUN code you will understand better.

For operation callbacks (e.g. join, create) you should implement the logic inside OnOperationResponse.
    For connection workflow you should implement the logic inside OnStatusChanged.
    For incoming events handling you should implement logic inside OnEvent.
  • Thanks for the response John, i switched because i'm planning on using Playfab for Auth and player data management.
  • JohnTube
    JohnTube ✭✭✭✭✭
    Well you can use that with PUN!