Photon + Rackspace Cloud ? Any good for me?

Options
garysimmons
edited November 2011 in DotNet
Hi Everyone,

I am a seasoned developer but very new to the multi-player arena and therefore wanted to ask for help with regards writing an application in a cloud that will be easily (prefer transparently) scalable. There many solutions and buzzwords surrounding this topic so It's hard at first to really nail down what I need to make my project work from a technology standpoint.

Basically the project I am working on is like a room based mmog with an authoritative server. That is to say the game universe is divided up into areas (rooms) that players can connect to by passing through wormholes/portals but players can only communicate and see players within the same room. I have been testing PlayerIO as a solution but its performance is not steady enough for a real time 3D game in my opinion. (The lag spikes seem really bad, often a big as 4 or 5 seconds and this happens many times in 1 minute).

I am thinking that Photon might be a solution for me (my clients are in unity) and wanted to ask if anyone here has had any experience hosting on the Rackpace cloud servers with Photon? If so..these are the questions I would love somebody to answer.

1. Is hosting in the Rackspace cloud good enough performance to host a real time multiplayer (twitch like) game?

2. How easy does Photon and/or Rackspace make scaling. I know in rackspace you can simply add more server instances to accommodate demand but does stuff have to be done on the Photon side of things to make sure that when new rooms are created they are done so on the least burdened servers? Or is this automatic whenever Photon runs in a cloud such as Rackspace?

3. Does photon/Rackspace sound like a good fit for this type of game?

Thanks for any advice you can give me

Comments

• Tobias
    Options
    We use Rackspace at the moment for our Photon Cloud service.