PhotonPlayer.ipAddress and PhotonPlayer.port

Options
jashan
jashan ✭✭
One thing I found a bit tricky with Photon Unity Networking was that it didn't support PhotonPlayer.ipAddress and PhotonPlayer.port. I'm using this for a couple of things on the server (Unity game server), so not having it was a bit of trouble for me when moving over from Unity networking to Photon Unity Networking.

However, it's not so hard to fix (it was kind of hard for me because I ran into a few dead ends here and there - but that's just because I'm still learning my way around in Photon / Photon Unity Networking / Loadbalancer).

You need a few changes both in Photon Unity Networking and Loadbalancer for this to work. For me, I only need the ipAddresses / ports for the MasterClient and IIRC, Unity networking also only has all ipAddresses in the "server", so that should be the same as Unity now (i.e. MasterClient has all ipAddresses, clients only have their own). In my set up, only servers can be MasterClients and a client can never "become" a MasterClient - so that's an assumption I'm using (not sure if a promoted MasterClient would get the data on promotion ... probably not, so if you need it, you'll have to implement it ;-) ).

So, the changes I applied in Photon Unity Networking (Unity side of things):

PhotonPlayer.cs:
public string ipAddress {
        get { 
            // instead of using "PlayerIP", it's better to use some constant
            // (last code snippet in this posting for one possible option)
            if (mCustomProperties.ContainsKey("PlayerIP"))
                return (string) mCustomProperties["PlayerIP"];

return "NETW_ERROR";  
        }
    }

public int port {
        get { 
            if (mCustomProperties.ContainsKey("PlayerPort"))
                return (int) mCustomProperties["PlayerPort"];

return -1; 
        }
    }