Step by step operations and events

Nyquest
edited July 2010 in Photon Server
Hello ppls..

I'm new to photon, but not new to the programming world. I am, however, completely self-taught (4 years now....).

I've read through the documentation for photon, and around here on the forums, done several searches for tutorials, guides, etc and etc, and still something is just not clicking with me.

I'm starting to better understand how photon (server side) works to handle events.. the trouble I'm having is, how exactly do I set up these custom operations. Reading around I got some good pointers from threads like THIS ONE for example, but again, something just is not clicking.

What I am interested in is, could someone possibly give a step by step guide on how to extend lite, for example.

To make this as basic as possible, the example should be something like:
(Using Unity and Photon Server SDK)
Client see's button 'button'
Client pushes 'button'
server takes call to MyLiteExtension
handles call to MyOperation.cs
returns MyEvent.cs to client
Client sees Label "Button Pushed" echoed from server.

This would help the photon community immensely I think since the documentation doesn't actually explain any of this.

Any help regarding this step by step procedure would be VERY appreciated!!

Comments

• There are a few things missing:

1. The client must talk to the corresponding application (sounds like you called it MyLiteExtension). By default it will talk to Lite and thus not work.

2. Operations: They are two part. part one is the datacontainer implementation in MyOperation. The second and to me even more important part is the code that does the operation handling actually thats in LiteGame (or its extended) and gets routed there from the Dispatcher

3. return MyEvent then again is easy (see SetProperties operation handling). Depending on what you do you can even use the operation response (see Join operation for this)