How to display a player in a room

Options
Hi! im new to Photon and Networking. And i really need help!

Im trying to get players to appear in a room. I have it working for a single player but not multiplayer.

I have 4 gameobjects that each contain a WaitingLabel and a Roster (contains different characters (do i need to attach photon views to characters?))
I need to setactive each waitinglabel and roster when a player enters the room.

Im trying to use RPC but i dont know how. Do i need to attach a photon view to each WaitingLabel and Roster?
I dont think i should use OnPhotonSerializeView since it should only call the RPC when a player enters..right?

I also need to attach playerIDs to each player (player 1, player 2, player 3, player 4) and assign player names to each player.

Please teach me!
Thank you!

Here is my code:
[RPC]

void OnEnable()
	{
		RoomName.text = PhotonNetwork.room.name;
		playerName = PhotonNetwork.player.name;
		AssignSlotRPC();
	}

void AssignSlotRPC()
	{
		if(!Roster1.activeInHierarchy)
		{
			playerID = 1;
			WaitingLabel1.SetActive(false);
			Roster1.SetActive(true);
		}
		else if(!Roster2.activeInHierarchy)
		{
			playerID = 2;
			WaitingLabel2.SetActive(false);
			Roster2.SetActive(true);
		}
		else if(!Roster3.activeInHierarchy)
		{
			playerID = 3;
			WaitingLabel3.SetActive(false);
			Roster3.SetActive(true);
		}
		else if(!Roster4.activeInHierarchy)
		{
			playerID = 4;
			WaitingLabel4.SetActive(false);
			Roster4.SetActive(true);
		}
	}

public void OnPhotonSerializeView(PhotonStream stream, PhotonMessageInfo info) 
	{
		if(stream.isWriting) {
			stream.SendNext((float)timeLeft);
			stream.SendNext((string)playerName);
			stream.SendNext((int)playerID);
			Debug.Log ("sending float");
		}
		else {
			timeLeft = (float)stream.ReceiveNext();
			playerName = (string)stream.ReceiveNext();
			playerID = (int)stream.ReceiveNext();
		}
	}

Comments

• vadim
    Options