Projectile online or offline?

Options
Hi all, this is my first project using PUN and it's my first post !

I feel excited using Photon, and no doubt it's a powerful tool, but I feel a bit confused due to a lack of information about the basic flows involved in different multiplayer game needs. However I know you can't always follow tracks and a good developer should be able to find his own way, that's what I'm trying to do ;P (don't hesitate to share good links with me ;P)

I would like your opinion about the logic you would use for having a slow projectile spawned from a player with a totally predictable trajectory (spawns from a known position with a known angle with a known force).
It seems to me there are 3 ways of accomplishing that:

- Instantiate the projectile with Photon.Instantiate and observe its transforms (like you would do for players moves in a fps).
- Instantiate the projectile with Photon.Instantiate and send RPC to all with shoot parameters (angle and force) and let each client update the projectile's state locally.
- Directly send RPC to all clients with shoot parameters and let each client instantiate (the unity way) update the projectile's state locally.

Comments

• By reading this thread: viewtopic.php?f=17&t=5788
    I did try the first option (everything server-side) but since it also requires to smooth projectile's positions over time, to avoid jitter effect, I'm not having the exact same landing spot, I mean the projectile isn't touching objects at the exact same place. And that's a big issue for a game like mine…

Should I rely on RPC calls ?
  • vadim
    Options
    Are other objects synchronized precisely enough to hit same place even if projectiles are perfectly synchronized?
    Is that 'big issue' is visual only? I guess you run hit logic only on one of clients, so other clients states updated even visually object hit in wrong place.
    Btw, what do you meant by 'everything server-side'?