InstantiateSceneObject

Options
Hi All,

I'm a newbie so please bear with me, Im making a Dungeon Crawler which will be multiplayer so I am trying to use Photon to assist. I believe I need to create all my game blocks (walls/doors etc...) as SceneObjects as they are created at runtime.

This is fine and works for the masterclient the problem is I don't understand how the other clients should create the objects, they do get sent to the clients when they join but the state of the objects are wrong and its missing all the details of the objects i.e. if a player opens a door (via an RPC) even though they are buffered when the next player joins it does not show that the door was opened (seems a bit intermittent) I also have script attached to the objects like a door which gives it all its properties isLocked which do not seem to get set/populated on the client.

Basically how should non master clients create/handle sceneobjects created by the master?

Comments

• Tobias
    Options
    You can apply PhotonViews in the scene when you create the level. You don't HAVE to instantiate everything at runtime. Just saying.

To save the state of a GameObject, you should use a Custom Room Property. Those are a Hashtable of key-values and you can have a key per door plus the (bool) value if it's open. Any player can modify this. The last one to call room.SetCustomProperties() with a door's state will set it.

Of course, you need a script to react to custom property changes. There is a callback you can implement:
    void OnPhotonCustomRoomPropertiesChanged(Hashtable propertiesThatChanged)

Check the changed keys and apply updated values.
    All values are available to joining players via room.customProperties.
  • Thanks Tobias,