Changing a material on a character

Options
Sorry if the answer is simple, I am very new to networking.

So far I have my game working well, I am using OnPhotonSerializeView to update the position, rotation and animations of my character. I am using an RPC to make a sword strike animation play. This all works OK across the network. But I am trying to make my character customisable and have started by trying to change the hair colour. I have 5 different hair materials and using a keypress I swap which material is applied to the hair. This works fine on the local player, but over the network it only changes the controllable characters hair, not the network character.

I have tried lots of different ways to do this, but still have had no success. If someone can suggest how I would go about this, I would really appreciate it.

Comments

• I'm going to be writing a script that does this for my prototype game.

My plan is to use an RPC call that will basically change the material on the local player and would be seen by others in the game.

photonView.RPC will do it I think.
  • I'd be interested to see how you go, because that is what I am doing and it doesn't change on the networked player, only the local one.
  • ChrisParker,

re:"This works fine on the local player, but over the network it only changes the controllable characters hair, not the network character. "
    Just to clarify, your local player *is* the networked character, correct? And as your local player, you want to change its hair color, yes?
  • ChrisParker,
    I just tried a very simple material replace and I got it working. I'm not sure if it's what you're looking for, but it's what I wanted to do for my own little prototype.

Will post in a bit. I'm having major issues with the most recent version of PUN - full of errors. :(
  • See if this is what you're looking to do:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZMdvECfkfKM