RPC and OnGUI issue

Options
Mikalo
edited August 2014 in DotNet
This isn't my exact code, as there is a lot more to the actual code. I'm still new to PUN and trying to make a multiplayer unity game, so forgive me if this is a simple solution.

I have code that instantiates an object for each player as they join, now the players get to setup their chars and then once they are at the end, they can challenge and be challenged. However, there seems to be an issue.
    void OnGUI()
    {
        if (photonView.isMine)
        {
            if (pageNumber == 0)
            {
                if (GUI.Button(new Rect(25, 25, 100, 20), "Next"))
                {
                    pageNumber++;
                }
            }
            if (pageNumber == 1)
            {
                if (GUI.Button(new Rect(25, 25, 100, 20), "Button to select opponent"))
                {
                    playerPhotonView.RPC("ChallengePlayer", PhotonTargets.Others);
                }
            }
            if (pageNumber == 2)
            {
                if (GUI.Button(new Rect(25, 25, 100, 20), "Decline challenge"))
                {
                    pageNumber--;
                }
            }
        }
    }

Basically each page is setup to let you pick your name, char, etc and then at the end, it would have code that lets you click a button to select who you want to battle.
    [RPC]
    void ChallengePlayer()
    {
        Debug.Log(pageNumber + " challenged page number");
        //script will include information about challenger
        if(pageNumber == 1)
            pageNumber++;
    }

The rpc checks if you are on the challenge page and then issues a challenge by moving to the next page. However, the problem I'm having is when I make the RPC call, the log shows that pagenumber = 0 and not 1 like I would have thought.