Tournaments

Options
kujo
kujo
Hi,

I'm a newbie to Photon, so this might be a really obvious answer, but I've had a Google around and not found much relevance.

I'm making a darts game and would like to introduce real time tournaments, this could be 4, 8 or maybe even 16 man tournaments. I'd like the user to choose the type of tournament they want to play, such as a 501 tournament or Cricket tournament, and then be automatically matched with others looking for the same type. Before a match actually starts, I'd like to be able to show a sort of tournament tree structure to show who's playing who, and then be taken into their match. Each match would only have 2 players until there is a winner, then that player moves onto the next round.

I'm wondering what the best way of doing something like this is in Photon? Would I create a room that has 4 players and then take them into the game? Or would each tournament of players would be a lobby and then the two players join a room of their own?

Thanks for any advice :)

EDIT: something I missed - these tournaments are available at all times.. so for example there is 'The Local' tournament that players can enter. There could be hundreds of instances of this tournament running at any one time, but me as a player are involved in just the one.

Comments

• Tobias
    Options
    Sorry for the late reply!
    I read this post and had to think about it and now I think you can actually get away with just plain old matchmaking and a room per turnament.
    Per match type, you can set a room property and use the possible values as filter for JoinRandomRoom. Players already in a fitting room will see new players join and get the players list updated. This is the basis for the tree structure.

Players could start a game/tournament early if they like. Just close the room to avoid others joining late (set: Room.open = false and Room.visible = false).