Need help with Events. Please help me...

Options
I am new to PUN. I have spent lots of time on different demo, reading PDF, and online post. I still can't figure out how to use Events.

I am making a turn-based game, which after both players submit the action, the game will use the data to run the result. After finished, start next turn.

I think I don't need to use PhotonView here. However, is there any demo shows how to use RaiseEvents and OnEvent? Or is there any better way to send message in my type of game?

I really need a help or some guides here. Thank you very much!!!!!

Comments

• dreamt1204
    Options
    After reading more post on this forum. I found out I could use PhotonView + RPC to achieve my goal, is it right?

Give both Players PhotonView script then while they submit the action, use RPC to send out all the data he has to another player. However, is there any restriction using RPC, such as can only send serialized type as parameter? Can I use my own Type of variables to be parameter and send out by RPC?

Sorry... being really confused here. I really like PUN and want to use it to finish my game. Thanks!!!

Best Regard.
  • vadim
    Options
    Hi,

You need at least one PhotonView to be able communicate between clients. To send your types in RPC calls, implement serialization for this type. See doc on custom type serialization http://doc.exitgames.com/en/realtime/cu ... -in-photon
  • dreamt1204
    Options
    Thank you so much, vadim!

I have played around with photonview 2 days. I am still really confused about its concept.

My game is a turn-based game, which doesn't require real time Object movement update. Thus, I create a "SyncManager" script, that manager all the PRC for the game, attach to a Game Object "Sync" in the scene. I literally place "Sync" in my scene. Now here comes the problem. I only have to put "Photon View " script to Sync, right?