How to make creator of room master client

Options
dennisroseman
edited May 2014 in DotNet
I am new to photon and going through docs, forum and demos.
I am trying to make my Unity game multiplayer. My first attempt is to adopt some Photon Viking Demo code.

I want creator of room to be Master Client. Evidently it does not automatically happen as I can see when I alter create room button in MainMenuVik.cs
to look like this:
GUILayout.BeginHorizontal();
        GUILayout.Label("CREATE ROOM:", GUILayout.Width(150));
        roomName = GUILayout.TextField(roomName);
        if (GUILayout.Button("GO"))
        {
            // using null as TypedLobby parameter will also use the default lobby
			//Debug.Log("PhotonNetwork.masterClient id: "+PhotonNetwork.masterClient);
			if(PhotonNetwork.playerList.Length == 1)
				{Debug.Log("playerWhoIsIt: " + PhotonNetwork.player.ID);};

PhotonNetwork.CreateRoom(roomName, new RoomOptions() { maxPlayers = 10 }, TypedLobby.Default);

//Debug.Log("PhotonNetwork.masterClient id: "+PhotonNetwork.masterClient);
			if(PhotonNetwork.playerList.Length == 1)
				{Debug.Log("playerWhoIsIt: " + PhotonNetwork.player.ID);};

Debug.Log("Just created room and PhotonNetwork.isMasterClient = "+PhotonNetwork.isMasterClient);  
			Application.LoadLevel("playMenu");
			Multiplayer.inMultiplayerMode = true;

}
        GUILayout.EndHorizontal();

When I run this I see PhotonNetwork.isMasterClient is unchanged "false" and PhotonNetwork.player.ID is -1.

How do I make the creator of a room the master client? I am guessing I need to explicitly call SetMainClient(). If so what is the code that would do this?

Comments

• While waiting for a reply I tried to force MasterClient with this addition after CreateRoom but it made no difference:

[codePhotonNetwork.CreateRoom(roomName, new RoomOptions() { maxPlayers = 10 }, TypedLobby.Default);
    PhotonNetwork.SetMasterClient(PhotonNetwork.player);][/code]
  • vadim
    Options