The Photon Forum
is Closed Permanently.

After many dedicated years of service, we have made the decision to retire our Forum and switch to read-only: we´ve saved the best to last! Your search result can be found below. Plus, we offer support via these channels:

Try Our
Documentation

Please check if you can find an answer in our extensive documentation on PUN.

Join Us
on Discord

Meet and talk to our staff and the entire Photon-Community via Discord.

Read More on
Stack Overflow

Find more information on Stack Overflow (for Circle members only).

Write Us
an E-Mail

Feel free to send your question directly to our developers.

Room renaming, Unique room names and lobby room list sorting

troglodescu
2013-08-16 10:13:53

I'm using PUN and it works out great but I have some dark areas of knowledge about all it's functionality and I didn't seem to find any answers to these questions anywhere. Sorry if they seem trivial but it's very important to my game's networking functionality. Here are the questions:

1. Can I (and how) change the name of the room if the masterClient leaves it ? I name my rooms by my player's name so when the one who created the room leaves, I want the new masterClient to put his name on the room so people in the lobby will see the new masterClient name of the room instead of the one who just left. This is also bad because the masterCLient that left cannot create another online game because there is a name conflict.

I did this but it does not work:

[code2=csharp]void OnPhotonPlayerDisconnected(PhotonPlayer aPlayer) { //if the master client left, rename the room

}[/code2] This is good introduction to the next related question

2. I want to make sure there are no duplicate room names. My idea was that if two players have the same name, the room names will be sufixed with the order of room creation. Ex: there are 3 players named "Ted" that each created a room. The lobby should list somethig like this:

Ted Ted(1) Ted(2)