Having some issues with RPC

Options
Hey guys,

Firstly, i'm quite new to server programming within Unity using Photon, so forgive me if this is a completely newbie post.

I'm building a basic online game, with arena based combat. The movement and state variables of each player are managed via the stream, however things like weapon hits causing damage etc are to be done via RPC.

So i'm working on my first RPC just now. To try and keep this short, the client uses a Raycast to detect the weapon hit, and calls a function locally so that the local enemy gets damaged, and then sends an RPC to the enemy so that he causes damage to himself. (I hope I am doing this right?)

The problem I am having is a little difficult to explain so i'll break it up into stages:

1) Locally, I hit the enemy with my weapon and call the local function causing damage to the local version of the enemy.
2) I then use the hitInfo of the Raycast to find the photonView of the enemy that was hit, and use the photonView.owner as the PlayerTarget to send the RPC to.
3) here's the code showing the two above steps:
[code2=csharp]//get the pdr and cause damage locally
panelDamageReciever pdr = rayhitinfo.collider.GetComponent<panelDamageReciever>();
pdr.takeDamage(controlInterface.hammerDamageMax);

//cause damage server side als
controlInterface.photonview.RPC("takePanelDamage", pdr.photonview.owner, controlInterface.hammerDamageMax, rayhitinfo.collider.gameObject.name);[/code2]

rayhitinfo is the out from the Raycast.
controlInterface is where my local photonview has a public reference.
pdr (the panelDamageReciever of the enemy) also has a public photonview reference
4) I ran a test, displaying whether the enemy has recieved the RPC on his local client, and he did. So I can confirm that it would appear that the RPC went to the enemy.