Beginner Network Rigidbody Questions.

Options
Hello,

I'm quite new to network programming and Photon, I have my game basically working with Photon Cloud. I have a few basic questions please bare with me.

A basic description of my game is, It's basically cars playing football/soccer, 1v1. Each car is Rigid body and another Rigid body for the ball.

The game is quite physics based I'm having trouble getting the game to feel good especially for the player who isn't the master client.

1 . With the relatively low player count, What would you recommend I set PhotonNetwork.sendRate and PhotonNetwork.sendRateOnSerialize to?

2 . What is the best Observe option for syncing rigid bodies, Unreliable or Reliable Delta Compressed?

3 . Also to sync the rigid bodies I've been using the NetworkRigidbody.cs script I found on the forum here http://forum.exitgames.com/viewtopic.php?f=17&t=2447 which is working ok. But it has setting m_InterpolationBackTime which I believe is set in milliseconds and is deponent on PhotonNetwork.sendRate and PhotonNetwork.sendRateOnSerialize. What would be correct value for this also?

4 . With each player having a local rigid body for their car, local car control feels the same a single player, but only the master client has a local physics simulation for the ball. This causes problems when the None master client player interacts with the ball. Often it intersects the car and or acts strangely. Would you have any suggestions for fixing this issue?

5 . I often find that when a remote player's position has become out of sync with the real position, it stays out of sync until the remote player moves. This then causes the positions to sync causing a big jump in positions. Is this an expected behaviour, and what is the best work around?

Again, sorry for all the questions. I've been working on this a while and any help with any of the above questions would help massively.

Thanks,
David

Comments

• Leepo
    Options