Fusion and collisions - OnTriggerEnter and OnTriggerExit questions

Options

Good afternoon everyone,

Here is what I have:

• Simple player prefab
  • Player behavior in the prefab. Playerbehaviour is a networkbehavior and has OnTriggerEnter / Exit
  • Simple object with a trigger

Here is what I am experiencing:

• When the game mode is Gamemode.Host things behave as I expect, OnTriggerEnter/Exit get called correctly and overall all is good
  • When the game mode is Gamemode.Client things go a bit crazy, for example, when the player is on top of the trigger object OnTriggerEnter is called every frame (behaves like OnTriggerStay) and OnTriggerExit is never called. It also behaves incorrectly once the interaction input is used, but I don't want to assume that it is because of this.

Because I am still new to photon fusion I checked some of the samples and this is what i encountered:

On Fusion Karts:

• The kartEntity (that is a networkbehavior) uses only OnTriggerStay to interact with the powerups via ICollidable interface
  • The RespawnTrigger (that is a monobehavior) has a OnTriggerEnter

On Fusion Razon Madness:

• The player behavior (that is a networkbehavior) has a custom collision function inside FixedUpdateNetwork() that uses Runner.GetPhysicsScene2D().OverlapBox

So my questions are:

• What is the correct approach/set up that I need to have in order to have OnTriggerEnter/Exit working correctly in clients? And if that is not possible,
  • Is the correct approach to collisions either using exclusively OnTriggerStay or some sort of custom collision detection that runs on FixedUpdateNetwork?

I am fairly experienced with Unity but new to Photon/Fusion so I can assume that the scene/gameobject setup is correct, so I would love to hear some insight from the Fusion side.

Thanks and best regards!

Comments

• Isaac_Augusto
    Options

Hi fsGs,