Please help spawning players in my case

Options

Hello!

I am a Newbie with Unity and even a worst newbie with Photon PUN. I have a situation like this. I want two players challanging each other. Lets say CAT vs. DOG.

In the Lobby players connecting the network will chose to be a CAT or a DOG.

The player who chose CAT creates a room and wait for a DOG to join.

The player who chose DOG receive in his screen a list of the available rooms (created by CATS). When the DOG enters a room, the room is == 2 and the game begins.

Now I am asking: How to spawn players? Player A is CAT, Player B is DOG but how to spawn player A as a CAT and PLAYER B as a DOG?

I need to have TWO prefabs (A cat and a dog) but I can't understand how to give the right character to the right player.

How would you script a "SpawnManager" in a case like this?

Thanks!

Comments

• Dibbie
    Dibbie ✭✭
    Options

If the host is always a "cat", then you can have your manager check if the PhotonPlayer is the MasterClient, if so spawn your "cat" prefab with PhotonNetwork.Instantiate, if not then spawn your "dog" prefab with the same function - if you then need to, you can use IPunInstantiateMagicCallback for each spawned player to either update their local version of the spawn manager, or send out an RPC to the other player

• Funesto
    Options

Thanks for your Reply! :-)

Yes. I thought that having just the CAT opening rooms it would be better for my (poor) matchmaking, at the moment! May be later I can experiment and improove!

If I get your suggestion well, I should NOT use PhotonNetwork.automaticallySyncScene = true

and then, if I am the master spawn cat, otherwise, spawn dog. This because "spawnManager" script will run on both devices, knowing which one is master. Right?

• Dibbie
    Dibbie ✭✭
    Options