Photon & UE4

DinaOrlaDinaOrla
edited April 12 in Native
Dear Team,

I'm new to Photon and its community! I want to use Photon for Multiplayers in a VR project that I'm running in UE4 (4.24. - 26.). I don't consider myself a developper just a good user of UE4 (no programming experience etc.). I follow clearly the steps of this documentation (https://doc.photonengine.com/en-us/realtime/current/getting-started/unreal-engine) but the demo project is very out-of-date (as mentioned in the txt file: version 4.12.5) and it's not possible to build it or run it in any recent version. Is there any current demo project out there that could help me out to explore photon for UE4 (also for VR)?
Any recommendations much appreciated!

Thanks!

PS: Sorry if this isn't the category for this post and for any cross-overs

Comments

• This is a question for the "Native" section of the forum (C / C++ clients).
    I will ping my colleague to chime in when he's available.
  • Hi @DinaOrla.
    This is a question for the "Native" section of the forum (C / C++ clients).
    I have moved it to that section now.
    but the demo project is very out-of-date (as mentioned in the txt file: version 4.12.5)
    The readme.txt is very out of date, not the project itself.
    it's not possible to build it or run it in any recent version
    In fact it is very possible.
    I have successfully run the demo project with UE 4.24, 4.25 and 4.26 myself.
    Make sure that you switch the demo UE4 version to the one that you intending to use it with via the context-menu of the .ueproject file.
    Also please make sure that you let the demo link to the correct variants of the Photon Windows libraries in the .Build.cs file: out of the box it specifies the '_vc14' variants (the ones for Visual Studio 2015), but for UE4.24 you need to change this to '_vc15' (Visual Studio 2017) and with UE4.25 and above to to '_vc16' (Visual Studio 2019).