Bye Bye PUN2? Car rigidbody sync problem case 56.000 ...endless...

Options
Hello dear people,

before I turn my back on Photon and PUN, or PUN2 to be precise, I will try one last attempt here.

I run and develop a game called "GeneRacing". It is an arcade top down racer.

I've been developing the game for almost 2 years now and have been using Photon with PUN since day 1 in the hope of easily finding a usable solution here. In itself, everything works really flawlessly, except for the synchronization of the rigid bodies, the physics and the cars.

The collisions obviously feel extremely bad or wrong. Clear. Can also not work if every client calculates himself.

All possible attempts to send force via RPC led to nirvana because this is simply too laggy and useless.

Before I finally turn my back on PUN2, I wanted to know whether anyone has already successfully solved something similar without an authoritative server?

I don't need any complex solution, just a reasonably realistic behavior in the event of a collision.

greetings

Michael

Comments

• Tobias
    Tobias admin
    edited February 2021
    Options
    Collisions and physics are really really hard to network. PUN 2 is using state transfer and does not take care of the simulation at all, which does not "help" for this case.
    It can be done but it's tricky to pull off, admittedly.

This is a known issue but we can not fix this without changing PUN 2 completely, which we don't really want to do either, so we develop a new networking solution: Fusion. It will be different but enable much better results with less complex coding.

Have a look here:
    https://doc.photonengine.com/en-US/fusion/current/getting-started/fusion-intro

So essentially, yes, Bye Bye PUN 2 for this case.
    A public beta for Fusion is planned but there is no ETA yet.
    There is a sign up for the alpha: https://download.photonengine.com/fusion-early-access

Care to show your game?
  • James_MF
    Options