demo-lobby question

Options
pianka
edited May 2011 in DotNet
Hello,

In the demo code, the Game and LobbyHandler classes both implement IPhotonPeerListener. They also both instantiate and connect a LitePeer. Is it common practice to have multiple connections to a Photon server, or am I misunderstanding the mechanism behind how these classes interact? It seems to me that maintaining multiple peers would be redundant and a waste of resources.

Thanks in advance and please forgive my naiveté; this is my first time using Photon.

Rick

Comments

• Tobias
    Options
    Hi,
    Sorry you had to wait a while for your answer.
    Your question is not naive. We didn't explain this anywhere!

Usually, you can do everything that's related to one client/user with just one peer. However, in most of our demos, we wrap the peer up so it can be used multiple times, simulating multiple peers.
    In this case, it's not even simulating another player. The second connection is there to keep an eye on the room-listing while you can use the other connection to join a game or another. By default, Lite and LiteLobby logic will remove you from a room when you join another. This is fine as logic and keeps things simple, but it lacks to showcase updates by the lobby.

I hope you got along with Photon despite this?
  • Is it common practice--or does it present some advantage--to use multiple peers for a single client/user? I just want to make sure that given a similar situation it wouldn't be a bad choice to handle both the game and the lobby list on the same connection.